Dreamrock Project The Gloom Debuts New Single “Requiem (for Joan of Arc)”

London-based solo alternative project The Gloom, helmed by Israeli musician, guitarist, singer-songwriter, and producer Yoav Landau, has unveiled “Requiem (for Joan of Arc)”, the new single from the band’s sophomore EP Coffee & Clementines.

Landau is currently an audio engineering and production student at London’s SAE Institute. His strong vocals command a polished, highly charged song, beginning the song with a melancholy echoing guitar with a heavily Pixies sound, and ending the track with a bright wall of psychedelic sound; a sublime ending to a beautiful aural vision.
As its name suggests, the emotionally-driven, just-this-side-of-grunge ballad was written as a lament for the historic figure, Joan of Arc (Jean d’Arc). Saint Joan tributes are a grand tradition, evolving from the likes of Arcade Fire, Madonna, and Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark. This particular tribute was sonically influenced by This Mortal Coil, Pixies, Cranes, and The Cure, with its prominent Bass VI work, melancholic cello, lush synths, and emotional vocals.
Listen to the song below:

Previously, The Gloom released a self-titled EP  in 2019) and the standalone single Æons (2020).

The new EP Coffee & Clementines was independently released in 2022. Some of the individuals that contributed to The Gloom’s releases include engineer and artist Assaf Tager (Katamine) and mastering engineers Howie Weinberg (The Cure, Nirvana), Simon Heyworth (Depeche Mode, Pixies), and Will Borza (Deftones).

Listen to the track below on your choice of streaming service and purchase the EP here:


Follow The Gloom:

Alice Teeple

Alice Teeple is a photographer, multidisciplinary artist, and writer. She is not in Tin Machine.

Recent Posts

  • Tour Dates

Massive Attack Announce US Tour Dates This October

In a highly anticipated return to American shores, Massive Attack will be performing in the US this October, marking their…

5 hours ago
  • Bands

A Man Dances Alone — Molchat Doma Unveil Video for 90s-EBM Driven Single “Ty Zhe Znaesh Kto Ya”

Belarusian post-punkers Molchat Doma erupted from the bleak industrial sprawl of Minsk in 2017. Their sound is as cold and…

6 hours ago
  • Bands

Memory Etched in Song — Neoclassical Artist Klime Kovaceski Debuts Video for “Unconquered” Featuring German Dmitriev

International music project Kovaceski Music, led by the visionary Klime Kovaceski, has announced the release of their latest single, "Unconquered,"…

13 hours ago
  • Bands

Nine Inch Nails Announces Dr. Martens Collaboration for The Downward Spiral’s 30th Anniversary

Dr. Martens, a brand long synonymous with rebellious spirit, has previously collaborated with iconic bands such as Joy Division and…

18 hours ago
  • Bands

Norway’s Permafrost Return in the Video for Their Summery Post-Punk Single “Wrong Heart”

Permafrost, a band formed in Molde, Norway, in 1982 by schoolmates Frode Heggdal Larsen and Kåre Steinsbu, has seen many…

21 hours ago
  • Bands

East London Outfit Oscar Mic Fuses Hip Hop and Post-Punk in Their Video for “Sun Star”

Red killer Mars the of king of wars.. Oscar Mic, a three-piece outfit from East London, fuses hip-hop, post-punk, and…

4 days ago
Sticky Footer Banner with Close Button