Dream-Punk Act Cor De Lux Shine Bright with the Cascading Melody of “Futures”

North Carolina-based band Cor De Lux has released their latest single, “FUTURES”. The post-punk dream-pop band weaves a sonic tapestry of sound and emotion; the atmospheric hooks and Dawn’s effervescent vocals echo Sonic Youth, The Breeders, Fugazi, and the Pixies.

FUTURES follows up the band’s first pre-album single, “Whose Side”, released this past May. all from Cor De Lux’s forthcoming sophomore album, M E D I A. Cor De Lux is comprised of guitarist Tim Lusk, guitarist/vocalist Dawn Moraga, drummer/vocalist Dana Quinn, and bassist John Bliven, who are currently recording base tracks for the album in their personal practice space in the Outer Banks (Kill Devil Hills, NC). For album production, up-and-coming sound engineer Soundpony (Rena Nicole Kozak/Child Actress) of Studio Saint Zo in Montreal, PQ, is mixing the album. For mastering, they have been working with Simon Scott (Slowdive).

Cor De Lux grew out of the tight-knit music scene of North Carolina’s Outer Banks in 2018. The band found each other by chance over a conversation about a love of music between its two founding members (guitarist Tim Lusk, and guitarist and vocalist, Dawn Moraga), while Moraga waited for a phone repair (in Tim’s shop). Realizing that they had so much in common (musical tastes, musician friends), this turned out to be the catalyst for their band’s formation. In late 2018, Lusk and Moraga added musicians and friends from the local scene to complete their lineup.

“We hit it off during our first practice. It’s hard to explain, other than, we didn’t want it to end,” says Moraga. Their music, a mixture of post-punk and shoegaze, has earned their sound the tongue-in-cheek nickname referred to by friends and members of the band alike, as, a kind of… ‘Shoe-Gazi,’ (a cross between shoegaze and Fugazi).

The band’s first two singles have featured artwork by Tim Lahan and Daniel Murphy. Supporting local artists is very important to the band, as well, so they have chosen Outer Banks, NC, artist Travis Fowler to design their forthcoming album artwork for “M E D I A.”

The spacey, expansive track is accompanied by a new surrealist video created with stock footage.

FUTURES is also available for digital download on Bandcamp.

Follow Cor De Lux:

Alice Teeple

Alice Teeple is a photographer, multidisciplinary artist, and writer. She is not in Tin Machine.

Recent Posts

  • Tour Dates

Massive Attack Announce US Tour Dates This October

In a highly anticipated return to American shores, Massive Attack will be performing in the US this October, marking their…

4 hours ago
  • Bands

A Man Dances Alone — Molchat Doma Unveil Video for 90s-EBM Driven Single “Ty Zhe Znaesh Kto Ya”

Belarusian post-punkers Molchat Doma erupted from the bleak industrial sprawl of Minsk in 2017. Their sound is as cold and…

5 hours ago
  • Bands

Memory Etched in Song — Neoclassical Artist Klime Kovaceski Debuts Video for “Unconquered” Featuring German Dmitriev

International music project Kovaceski Music, led by the visionary Klime Kovaceski, has announced the release of their latest single, "Unconquered,"…

12 hours ago
  • Bands

Nine Inch Nails Announces Dr. Martens Collaboration for The Downward Spiral’s 30th Anniversary

Dr. Martens, a brand long synonymous with rebellious spirit, has previously collaborated with iconic bands such as Joy Division and…

16 hours ago
  • Bands

Norway’s Permafrost Return in the Video for Their Summery Post-Punk Single “Wrong Heart”

Permafrost, a band formed in Molde, Norway, in 1982 by schoolmates Frode Heggdal Larsen and Kåre Steinsbu, has seen many…

20 hours ago
  • Bands

East London Outfit Oscar Mic Fuses Hip Hop and Post-Punk in Their Video for “Sun Star”

Red killer Mars the of king of wars.. Oscar Mic, a three-piece outfit from East London, fuses hip-hop, post-punk, and…

4 days ago
Sticky Footer Banner with Close Button