David Byrne Dons the Big Suit Once Again for 4k Cinematic Release of Talking Heads’ “Stop Making Sense”

David Byrne dons the Big Suit once again in a delightful promo released today by film studio A24, signaling the upcoming return of Jonathan Demme’s unforgettable Talking Heads concert film, Stop Making Sense. The film has been meticulously restored in 4K resolution and is set to captivate audiences in theaters across the globe.

“Stop Making Sense” immortalizes core band members Byrne, Tina Weymouth, Chris Frantz, and Jerry Harrison, accompanied by P-Funk Bernie Worrell, Alex Weir, Steve Scales, Lynn Mabry, and Edna Holt. Filmed during three unforgettable nights at Hollywood’s Pantages Theatre in December 1983, the movie boasts unforgettable Talking Heads anthems like “Burning Down the House,” “Life During Wartime,” “Take Me to the River,” “Psycho Killer,” and “Once in a Lifetime.”.

In response to the news, the Talking Heads enthused, “There was a band. There was a concert. This must be the movie!” Although the band disbanded in 1991 and made a brief appearance at the 2002 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame induction, Byrne has firmly stated that a reunion is off the table.

Adding to the fervor, August 18th marks the arrival of the soundtrack’s digital and double-vinyl editions, replete with the much-anticipated tracks “Cities” and “Big Business/I Zimbra.” The vinyl edition, a two-LP affair, pays homage to the original 1984 limited-edition booklet by incorporating its replica, adorned with a trove of unseen photographs and fresh liner notes penned by Byrne, Weymouth, Frantz, and Harrison. Eager aficionados can ensure their copy by placing a pre-order through the Talking Heads’ official store.

The announcement was accompanied by a charming teaser, in which Byrne retrieves his iconic Big Suit from a dry cleaner and dances to the tune of “This Must Be the Place.” Immerse yourself in the engaging trailer and the full tracklist below.

Talking Heads, Stop Making Sense

1.” Psycho Killer”
2. “Heaven”
3. “Thank You for Sending Me an Angel”
4. “Found a Job”
5. “Slippery People”
6. “Cities” *
7. “Burning Down the House”
8. “Life During Wartime”
9. “Making Flippy Floppy”
10. “Swamp”
11. “What a Day That Was”
12. “This Must Be the Place (Naïve Melody)”
13. “Once in a Lifetime”
14. “Big Business/I Zimbra” *
15. “Genius of Love”
16. “Girlfriend is Better”
17. “Take Me to the River”
18. “Crosseyed and Painless”

* Previously unreleased

From the Editor at

Recent Posts

Darkwave Act Aurat Debuts a Double Dose of EBM and Synthpunk with “Jugar” and “Touch of Flesh”

Aurat (OH-RUT), meaning “Women” in Urdu, hails from the sun-drenched streets of Los Angeles, CA.…

17 hours ago

NightNight Enlists Void Vision, John Fryer, and More for “Translations 1” Remix EP

NightNight — the electronic/alternative project led by Brooklyn-based musician Yasmin Maryam Haddad — artfully draws…

19 hours ago

Darkwave Project Ferrarilover Returns with “Revenge 101” and “Living on the Edge”

Nico Wyland, better known as Ferrarilover, has made a triumphant return with not one but…

20 hours ago

Berlin-based Deathrock Outfit Naturata Brutalismus Debut Video for “Sacrilegio”

Berlin-based deathrock collective Naturata Brutalismus is a beautiful paradox itself, much like the nature it…

22 hours ago

Italian Dark Synth Artist Paolo Virdis Debuts Haunting New Single “Some Thing is Fading Away”

Every night I dream about your raven's eyes I see you I see you Every…

22 hours ago

Italian Darkwave Project Le Brame Makes its Debut with “Luna”

Italian darkwave project Le Brame has just revealed the launch of their debut single, "Luna,"…

23 hours ago