Dave Gahan Announces New Covers Album “Imposter” with Soulsavers

After covering Metallica for their Blacklist project, Dave Gahan, Depeche Mode’s thundering baritone vocalist, announces a new album with his band the Soulsavers out on the 12th of November via Columbia Records, entitled Imposter. The album was recorded live at Shangri-La recording studio in Malibu as a 10-piece band. Gahan and Soulsavers last collaborated in 2015 for Angels & Ghosts, their second LP following 2012’s The Light the Dead See.

The album will feature the inimitable Gahan reimagining classic songs “from across genres and time periods,” and he means it: Gahan will perform numbers penned by everyone from PJ Harvey to Jeff Buckley to Charlie Chaplin to Bob Dylan. The album’s first single, a cover of Cat Power’s Metal Heart, will be unleashed this Friday. Gahan also brings new light to Neil Young’s  A Man Needs a Maid, Mark Lanegan‘s Dark Religion, and Gene Clark’s Where My Love Lies Asleep,

“When I listen to other people’s voices and songs—more importantly the way they sing them and interpret the words—I feel at home,” Gahan said. “I identify with it. It comforts me more than anything else. There’s not one performer on the record who I haven’t been moved by. I know we made something special, and I hope other people feel that and it takes them on a little kind of trip—especially people who love music and have for years.”

Here is the full tracklist:

1. The Dark End of the Street
2. Strange Religion
3. Lilac Wine
4. I Held My Baby Last Night
5. A Man Needs a Maid
6. Metal Heart
7. Shut Me Down
8. Where My Love Lies Asleep
9. Smile
10. The Desperate Kingdom of Love
11. Not Dark Yet
12. Always On My Mind

Alice Teeple

Alice Teeple is a photographer, multidisciplinary artist, and writer. She is not in Tin Machine.

Recent Posts

The Cure Announce 44 Date European Tour for 2022

If you were searching for definitive proof that you've quantum leaped into the best possible…

14 mins ago

Chrystabell Beams Us Into A New Dimension With The Dazzling “Midnight Star”

"Are we angels shining brightly? Are we the forgotten left behind?" Fasten your seatbelts, Chrystabell is…

2 days ago

Swedish Post-Punk Outfit Principe Valiente Return with Their Beautiful and Oceanic Video for “Porcelain”

Swedish post-punk outfit Principe Valiente return with "Porcelain," an epic ballad heralding the release of…

2 days ago

Melbourne Post-Punk Outfit Bitumen Summons the Spirit of Dreamy Early 90s Alt Rock on “Cleareye Shining”

Australian post-punk quartet Bitumen are due to release their savage sophomore LP, Cleareye Shining on…

3 days ago

Qual Dances Beyond Skin Deep in his Sinister Synth-Wave Video for “Insides on the Outside”

The collaboration between Trace Amount, and Qual continues, this time with the 3D animated video…

3 days ago

Blistering Dream Pop Project Old Moon Offer Unreleased Track “Stranger”

It's that perfect time of year where I generally listen to shoegaze and dream pop…

4 days ago