New Releases

Dark Electronic Trio Denial Waits Debut “Noirbox” EP

Can one form a band with two strangers? Denial Waits took the challenge. The musical collective trio, comprised of vocalist/keyboardist Amanda Jay (aka Star Madman) of Oklahoma City, vocalist Ryan Thomas Mitchell on the Mississippi Gulf Coast, and producer Friendly Timo in Finland, is eclectic, often delving into polar opposite magnetism, but the result is powerful, with easy comparisons to Portishead, Massive Attack, Depeche Mode, Nine Inch Nails, and Siouxie and the Banshees.

The fascinating chemistry between the musicians is underscored by the fact that none of them have ever met in person. Mitchell knew about Timo’s other project, The Fair Attempts, and Ryan had initially interviewed Timo for his blog, DarknessCalling, which is how they met.

“I never thought we’d wind up working together on something like this, but I sent him some old demos of mine to get his opinion, and it seemed to light a spark under him. He had most of the music for Father/Me the next day, and the rest is history.”

Ryan Thomas Mitchell’s raspy vocals make an interesting juxtaposition to Amanda Jay’s delicate tones. Denial Waits combines stream-of-consciousness with hypnotic rhythms: the result is the ethereal quality of trip-hop, powerful drums, and mesmerizing synth work.

“I always knew we needed that different element,” explains Ryan. “Timo and I had already stumbled upon a unique sound together, but I knew we needed another vocal element to really elevate the whole thing. Luckily, we were able to bring Amanda on board, and the project really started to take shape….Each track has its own little personality, but we also wanted to make something that felt cohesive and strong. I think we pulled that off with Noirbox.”

Listen below:

Follow Denial Waits:

Alice Teeple

Alice Teeple is a photographer, multidisciplinary artist, and writer. She is not in Tin Machine.

Recent Posts

A Sky-kissed Shoegaze Daydream in Resplandor’s “Blue”

A new dream-laced single has emerged from the Netherlands: Resplandor announces the release of "Blue",…

5 hours ago

Synth-driven New Wave Act TV Queens Debut “Too Cruel The Thunder”

Conceived in Dayton Ohio, TV Queens is a three-piece that draws heavy inspiration from a…

6 hours ago

Italian Dark Post-Punk Act God in a Black Suit Releases “Nails” EP

In February 2020, five friends begin to work on the drafts of a dozen songs.…

8 hours ago

The Enchantment of Second Skin: An Interview with Brian DaMert

Ever since Second Skin crashed into the scene earlier this year with "Colder," we've been…

12 hours ago

Delta 5 Founder and Singer Julz Sale Has Passed Away

With much sadness, we announce the loss of Julz Sale, founder and singer of Leeds-based…

15 hours ago

Minimal Synth Act Black Marble Debuts a Love Letter to Artists with “Preoccupation”

Black Marble’s Chris Stewart has unveiled the third single from his forthcoming new album Fast…

1 day ago