Colorado Shoegazers A Shoreline Dream Collaborate with Ride’s Mark Gardener on “Everything Turns”

The end could be so different
If we could ever get along
Our dreams get so beaten
This party has moved on

Formed nearly two decades ago in 2005, A Shoreline Dream now consists of multi-instrumentalist and vocalist Ryan Policky and guitarist Erik Jeffries, who both hail from charming Barnum, Colorado. Now, the prog-shoegaze stalwarts are back with a bang, dropping the single “Everything Turns,” featuring the legendary Ride frontman Mark Gardener.

Policky and Jeffries first met Gardener at a Ride show in Denver on Policky’s birthday. Throughout 2023, in between Ride’s tour dates, they collaborated on three tracks, co-writing and co-producing, wrapping up just shy of a year later.

“This was such an amazing collab. Mark was super open stylistically and the ideas flowed. I think we created something neither of us were fully expecting,” says Policky. “Making art with true pioneers is why I continue down this path.”

Blending shimmering walls of sound with turbulent percussion and swooning vocals, Everything Turns give shoegaze meets chaos, wrapped in a Colorado coolness. In the wistfully wry lyrics, our once-proud protagonist laments lost strength and vanished dreams. They reflect on a time when they felt wanted and believed they were getting somewhere. Now, surrounded by empty images and an unresponsive system, they wonder who’s in charge as everything seems to fall apart. Despite this disillusionment, there’s a plucky, almost cheeky insistence on keeping it together, not falling apart, and perhaps, reluctantly, letting go. The party has moved on, but the refrain echoes: hold on, stay strong, because, in the end, everything turns.

“It was great and one of those life-fate meant-to-be chances to connect with Ryan and A Shoreline Dream,” Gardener reflects. “Ryan sent a good few tracks through to me from Denver to my Ox4 Sound Studio in Oxfordshire and the first backing track I totally connected with was the track that was to become Everything Turns. Lyrically, it’s a reflection on how technology is taking over and, the more connected we get with it, the more alone we can find ourselves in the Real World.”

The video was filmed, directed and edited by Policky for Latenight Weeknight Records, LLC. Captured in Denver, Colorado in April 2024, it features Julianna Beckert as the wandering actress.

Watch “Everything Turns” below:

Set for release on July 19, Whitelined will be available as a limited edition 180g white vinyl LP and digitally via Latenight Weeknight Records. Expect a swirl of sounds, shimmering solos, and a dash of delightful disarray—shoegaze with a twist.

Everything Turns is available exclusively via Bandcamp. Whitelined is now available for pre-order as a limited edition on 180g white vinyl.

Mark Kramer (Urge Overkill, Bongwater, Shimmy Records) lent his sonic sorcery to master and prep Whitelined for direct-to-vinyl production. This will be A Shoreline Dream’s inaugural vinyl LP, fittingly pressed on pristine 180g white vinyl. The album art features a photo taken by Policky at Yellowstone in 2008, later transformed into an oil-on-photo masterpiece, inspired by that majestic locale.

Over two decades, A Shoreline Dream has churned out a plethora of releases on their own label, Latenight Weeknight Records. They’ve collaborated with legends like Ulrich Schnauss and Mark Kramer, and even landed distribution by iconic UK indie label Rocket Girl Records. They’ve remixed Engineers for K-Scope and opened for Chapterhouse’s final gig.

Follow A Shoreline Dream:

Follow Mark Gardener:

Alice Teeple

Alice Teeple is a photographer, multidisciplinary artist, and writer. She is not in Tin Machine.

Recent Posts

  • Bands

Italian Shoegazers Monoscopes Debut Psychedelic Video for “You’re Gonna Be Mine”

Think about the frustrations Of resisting temptation Full of anticipation But I know you’re gonna be mine Ah, the certainty…

6 hours ago
  • Bands

Electronic Music Artist Lourene Breaks Down Beauty Standards in Her Video for “Not Hot”

Beauty standards are societal constructs, often swayed by transient cultural whims and commercial interests, that can lead us away from…

6 hours ago
  • Bands

When Did it All Turn Grey? — Danish Post-Punk Outfit Violence Debut “Colour Decay” Featuring T A K E R

"When did it all turn grey?" Violence is a post-punk band hailing from Copenhagen, Denmark. With their roots firmly planted…

7 hours ago
  • Bands

San Francisco’s Octavian Winters Concoct New Release with Iconic Producer Mark Pistel”

In 2022, San Francisco saw the intriguing rise of Octavian Winters, a post-punk ensemble with a flair for the theatrically…

7 hours ago
  • Bands

UK Post-Punk Legends The March Violets Return with Their Video for “Hammer the Last Nail”

All I ask is the stars!  It’s been quite the year for Leeds legends, The March Violets. They’ve recently signed…

8 hours ago
  • Bands

Nicole Marxen Dances Under the Red Moonlight of Her Wounds in the Giallo-Tinged Video for “Thorns”

like a rabid animal my body betrays itself these dormant wounds exhumed Nicole Marxen, a singer-songwriter and visual artist from…

1 day ago
Sticky Footer Banner with Close Button