Classic Post-Punk Act Getting The Fear to Release “Death Is Bigger: 1984-1985”

The earth is still beneath my feet, I start to sink to lose myself
Friends and lovers stand around unconcerned, their eyes in flames.

England’s ‘pleasant pastures green’ were rife with cross-pollination in the musical landscapes of the mid-1980s. Post-punk bands splintered, reformed and transcended, creating entirely new genres of expression. Among the casualties of the Great Divergence were Getting The Fear, formed by Southern Death Cult’s rhythm section (Barry Jepson, David “Buzz” Burrows, and Aki Haq Nawaz Qureshi), and voiced by Thee Temple Ov Psychick Youth’s captivating and androgynous Paul “Bee”Hampshire (formerly of The Danse Society).

At long last, the brief-but-beloved Getting The Fear is releasing their collection LP, DEATH IS BIGGER: 1984-1985. Taken as a whole, the album showcases the increasingly forking paths facing UK post-punk in 1984. Getting The Fear’s music feels eclectic and unfettered in its flaming youth, following whim, lust, and impulse. The compilation’s 10 tracks are alternately brooding, spiky, and sneering, as the lyrics fixate on dreams, sex, and Charles Manson (the sleeve of Last Salute features a detail from Manson’s embroidered waistcoat, unbeknownst to label execs). Razor wire guitars slice through minimalist, melodic rhythms….occasionally flowering into psychedelic poetry, revealing Bee’s deep affinity with Psychic TV.
Galvanized by Margaret Thatcher’s “iron fist” austerity policies and the cultural liberation of punk, the group blazed to creative fruition, quickly landing a lucrative deal with RCA. Immediately after recording their 1984 debut single, Last Salute, a label shakeup left them stranded and unsupported. Rather than stall in music industry purgatory, Getting The Fear chose to dissolve in order to escape their restrictive contract, paring down to the pair Into a Circle.
Death Is Bigger: 1984-1985 rectifies history’s error, collecting the group’s entire vault of demos and unreleased songs, with copious liner notes and a photo gallery capturing Getting The Fear in all their libertine glory.
“If this must end let it pass me by / I’ll remain your friend, only flowers die.”

Watch Against The Wind here, a mighty assemblage constructed of rare live performance and stills compiled from their brief moment of sunshine:

Preorder the album on their Bandcamp here:
Alice Teeple

Alice Teeple is a photographer, multidisciplinary artist, and writer. She is not in Tin Machine.

Recent Posts

An Interview with Industrial Darkwave Trio Matte Blvck—Plus Remixes of Clan of Xymox, Health, and More!

After years of performing in bands such as Julien K, The New Division, Moving Units,…

3 days ago

Italian Post-Punk Act Hapax Examine the Role of Art and Individuality Under Isolation with “Silvery Track”

To rushing wants and blood’s inflated passions Crawls the vainglory’s slug With its plodding telltale…

3 days ago

Darkwave Legends Clan of Xymox Debut Video for Brave New World

The legendary Clan of Xymox has announced the first single from their forthcoming eighteenth studio…

3 days ago

Deaf Dance Find Themselves in Desolation with “The Garbage Humans”

Lost in a dream... An empty, desolate desert does not seem so foreign these days.…

3 days ago

Bootblacks Return to the Fold With “Thin Skies Remixed”

New York's Bootblacks are back, following up last year's highly acclaimed Thin Skies with a…

3 days ago

Indie-Punk Darlings Girlfriends and Boyfriends Debut Super-8 Scooter Video for “Dirty Words”

Vancouver's Girlfriends and Boyfriends are out there again with another marvelous offering: a new video…

3 days ago