Bryan Ferry to Reissue First Six Solo Albums on Vinyl

Roxy Music was gleefully surfing the wave of unprecedented success in 1973 when frontman Bryan Ferry made a bold choice: launching a solo career. Ferry went on to shape the course of rock and pop music with his swaggering croon and dandy film star beauty, brilliant songwriting, and avant-garde performance. He straddles the fine line of classic and contemporary with his lyrics, and traversing a wide range of musical styles, from filmic electronic soundscapes to recreations of New Orleans and Weimar jazz bands.

Bryan Ferry released These Foolish Things just as Roxy Music blasted into the stratosphere. Ferry’s first solo offering was an eclectic tour-de-force of covers, including a frenetic take on Lesley Gore’s It’s My Party and a jaunty version of Bob Dylan’s A Hard Rain’s Gonna Fall.  Another Time, Another Place followed in 1974: Ferry once again created fresh interpretations of classic songs. Let’s Stick Together, featuring material previously released as singles, B-sides, and LP tracks, became a new outlet for Ferry after Roxy Music parted ways. In 1977, Ferry released In Your Mind, his first major foray into his own work. The Bride Stripped Bare arrived a year later, a collection of Ferry originals that gelled just before Roxy Music’s reunion. Boys and Girls from 1985 was a triumph for Ferry, cementing his icon status in the 1980s musical lexicon.

At long last, Bryan Ferry’s first six solo albums will be available once again on vinyl on 30 July. They include

  • These Foolish Things (1973)
  • Another Time, Another Place (1974)
  • Let’s Stick Together (1976)
  • In Your Mind (1977)
  • The Bride Stripped Bare (1978)
  • Boys and Girls (1985)

Each album has been remastered from original tapes at Abbey Road Studios and cut by Frank Arkwright. All six releases will feature enhanced versions of the original artwork overseen by Bryan Ferry.All are pressed on 180g black vinyl, and feature enhanced versions of the original artwork overseen by Bryan Ferry. All records are now available on pre-order here via UMC / Virgin/EMI.

Ready your record needles, and watch some classic solo Bryan Ferry videos to tide you over:

Bryan Ferry’s first six solo albums back on vinyl – Released July 30, 2021
Alice Teeple

Alice Teeple is a photographer, multidisciplinary artist, and writer. She is not in Tin Machine.

Recent Posts

Blistering Dream Pop Project Old Moon Offer Unreleased Track “Stranger”

  It's that perfect time of year where I generally listen to shoegaze and dream…

4 hours ago

Watch an Interview and Live Performance with Dark Post-Punk Act Maggot Heart on Milk Me Episode III

"Locked inside a prison of flesh the spirit will not soar, only in unity with…

6 hours ago

Synth-Pop Project TSTI Debuts the Shadowy and Sincere Video for “Always”

Hard to watch I will miss The simple times The days we kiss The enigma…

1 day ago

Ukrainian Deathrock Act Old Cat’s Drama Debut Video for “Crystal Signals”

Old school Goth and Deathrock stalwarts Old Cat's Drama, hailing from Kyiv, Ukraine, have announced…

1 day ago

Boy Harsher Debut the Dark and Seductive “Give Me A Reason” From “The Runner”


1 day ago

Russian Post-Punk Outfit Twin Peaks are Lost in a Cold Forest in their Video for “Wounded Stars”

Russia’s Twin Peaks finds themselves lost in the frozen wilderness in their spellbinding new video for "Wounded…

2 days ago