Video Premiere

Brooklyn Industrial Punk Heroes Pop 1280 Return with Their Frenzied Video for “Boom Operator”

Brooklyn Industrial punk group Pop 1280 return with their new album Way Station—due out this December via Belgian cultWeyrd Son Records.

The album’s genesis dates back to when the band were putting the finishing touches on their third LP, Paradise, which came out on Sacred Bones in 2016.

Returning to New York after extensive touring that took them to Europe and back, the band restructured, paring themselves down to the core duo of Ivan Drip and Chris Bug, and new recruit Matthew Hord, who brought new expertise in analog synth hardware unlike anything heard before in Pop.1280.

The result is an album of frenzied intensity and madness that is perfectly illustrated in their first from the new record with “Boom Operator”.

The band Explains:

“Boom Operator is a story of a film technician losing his mind on set. The lyrics explore the terrible punishment we put our bodies and minds through in the world of capitalism. It also explores the topics of human degradation and humiliation and the violence that erupts from people when they are dehumanized.

Boom Operator was recorded live in one take by Andrew Chugg at Gilded Audio. When the song was written, it started with the drum pattern and vocals and was built up around that. After that the throbbing synth was written, the last thing we figured out was the guitar. It is in the key of B minor and is 130 beats per minute.”

The video for Boom Operator was directed and produced by Mark Perro of The Men, and was shot entirely on VHS.

Watch below:

Way Station is out on December 6th. Pop 1280 are heading back to Europe in early 2020, see tour dates below.

Pre-Order Here

Tour Dates:

  • Thu 20.2 Ghent Belgium
  • Fri 21.2 Paris France
  • Sat 22.2 Charleroi Belgium
  • Tue 25.2 Halle Germany
  • Wed 26.2 Linz Austria
  • Fri 28.2 Budapest Hungary
  • Sat 29.2 Kosice Slovakia
  • Sun 1.3 Bratislava Slovakia
  • Mon 2.3 Warsaw Poland
  • Tue 3.3 Gdnask Poland
  • Wed 4.3 Lodz Poland
  • Thu 5.3 Prague Czech Republic
  • Fri 6.3 Leipzig Germany
  • Sat 7.3 Hamburg Germany

From the Editor at

Recent Posts

  • Tour Dates

Massive Attack Announce US Tour Dates This October

In a highly anticipated return to American shores, Massive Attack will be performing in the US this October, marking their…

6 hours ago
  • Bands

A Man Dances Alone — Molchat Doma Unveil Video for 90s-EBM Driven Single “Ty Zhe Znaesh Kto Ya”

Belarusian post-punkers Molchat Doma erupted from the bleak industrial sprawl of Minsk in 2017. Their sound is as cold and…

7 hours ago
  • Bands

Memory Etched in Song — Neoclassical Artist Klime Kovaceski Debuts Video for “Unconquered” Featuring German Dmitriev

International music project Kovaceski Music, led by the visionary Klime Kovaceski, has announced the release of their latest single, "Unconquered,"…

13 hours ago
  • Bands

Nine Inch Nails Announces Dr. Martens Collaboration for The Downward Spiral’s 30th Anniversary

Dr. Martens, a brand long synonymous with rebellious spirit, has previously collaborated with iconic bands such as Joy Division and…

18 hours ago
  • Bands

Norway’s Permafrost Return in the Video for Their Summery Post-Punk Single “Wrong Heart”

Permafrost, a band formed in Molde, Norway, in 1982 by schoolmates Frode Heggdal Larsen and Kåre Steinsbu, has seen many…

21 hours ago
  • Bands

East London Outfit Oscar Mic Fuses Hip Hop and Post-Punk in Their Video for “Sun Star”

Red killer Mars the of king of wars.. Oscar Mic, a three-piece outfit from East London, fuses hip-hop, post-punk, and…

4 days ago
Sticky Footer Banner with Close Button