Blacklist Drop Unexpected New Single, Including First New Recordings in Over a Decade

Just over ten years ago, NYC outfit Blacklist released their lone LP Midnight of the Century on the Wierd Records imprint. After a lengthy hiatus, the band reunited last year to headline the Murder of Crows Festival in Brooklyn, a much-deserved victory lap for a band whose cult status and mythos has grown exponentially over the years. Not content with simply performing live, the band has just announced a two-track single of new recordings, and we’re honored to premiere both tracks here. Listen to the cacophonous “Disorder” and the sprawling “No Secret Islands” below:

Both tracks are vital slices of post-punk bliss. “Disorder” is immediately gripping, with a pummeling rhythm section, hard, angular guitars, and powerfully delivered vocals. While the verse boils with tension, the chorus explodes in a frenzy of precision and intensity seldom seen this side of the spectrum. “No Secret Islands,” a live favorite dating back to the Midnight of the Century era, is more spacious, but no less tense, a slow-burning fire that lingers palpably in the air even after it ends. Both tracks channel the heavier textures of bands like Fields of the Nephilim and Godflesh, with the post-industrial sludge of latter-era Primal Scream, yet also injecting a much-needed sense of urgency, political fervor, and romanticism that makes each track an instant classic and a welcome addition to the band’s discography.

Guitarist and vocalist Josh Strawn offered some words about the release:

“No Secret Islands” was in a lot of our live shows back in the day. It was probably our collective favorite of the newer post-MOTC songs and pretty indicative of where we were heading creatively. “Disorder” hasn’t ever been played live, but we felt it had a kind of aggro intensity that spoke to the present moment. Lyrically, it’s about white supremacy and the collusion between multibillion dollar digital tech corporations, white supremacists, and global neofascism. It’s a song about solidarity with those who reject the idea that “law and order” is preferable to justice. “No Secret Islands” is about oligarchs’ fantasy that they can hide away in some safe haven from the social and ecological collapse they’re helping drive. 

This recording is especially exciting because more so than anything we’ve ever released, it sounds the way Blacklist sounds in the rehearsal room when we’re making up stuff on the spot. We’re really a pretty noisy, loud band and over the years we developed a sound that never really made it to any records. It’s also exciting because to me it sounds like we picked up right where we left off. For me, “noise rock” never really gets dark enough, and post punk/gothic rock whatever you wanna call it, never gets brutally loud, unhinged and noisy enough. It feels like it occupies its own very specific space to me in the musical landscape and that’s cool to be able to say when you’re a band that’s making its first new music in a decade.

Disorder will be released on August 7th in digital format, with a limited edition 7” to follow. Pre-orders are live today via Bandcamp, with all revenue going directly to the artist. Check below for the artwork, track listing, and pre-order links:

Blacklist- Disorder
1. Disorder
2. No Secret Islands

Pre-order digital and 7” here

From the Editor at

Recent Posts

  • Tour Dates

Massive Attack Announce US Tour Dates This October

In a highly anticipated return to American shores, Massive Attack will be performing in the US this October, marking their…

5 hours ago
  • Bands

A Man Dances Alone — Molchat Doma Unveil Video for 90s-EBM Driven Single “Ty Zhe Znaesh Kto Ya”

Belarusian post-punkers Molchat Doma erupted from the bleak industrial sprawl of Minsk in 2017. Their sound is as cold and…

5 hours ago
  • Bands

Memory Etched in Song — Neoclassical Artist Klime Kovaceski Debuts Video for “Unconquered” Featuring German Dmitriev

International music project Kovaceski Music, led by the visionary Klime Kovaceski, has announced the release of their latest single, "Unconquered,"…

12 hours ago
  • Bands

Nine Inch Nails Announces Dr. Martens Collaboration for The Downward Spiral’s 30th Anniversary

Dr. Martens, a brand long synonymous with rebellious spirit, has previously collaborated with iconic bands such as Joy Division and…

17 hours ago
  • Bands

Norway’s Permafrost Return in the Video for Their Summery Post-Punk Single “Wrong Heart”

Permafrost, a band formed in Molde, Norway, in 1982 by schoolmates Frode Heggdal Larsen and Kåre Steinsbu, has seen many…

20 hours ago
  • Bands

East London Outfit Oscar Mic Fuses Hip Hop and Post-Punk in Their Video for “Sun Star”

Red killer Mars the of king of wars.. Oscar Mic, a three-piece outfit from East London, fuses hip-hop, post-punk, and…

4 days ago
Sticky Footer Banner with Close Button