Berlin Disco Wave Outfit She Lies Debut Dreamy “Everything” EP

She Lies are a charismatic disco wave outfit from Berlin. Anni serves up vocals; Ele helms samplers. Michel (Rework), the label boss of exlove, joins them on synths. Anni and Ele, former roommates and friends since childhood, share their musical ideas and inspirations before starting to record their new wave-inspired songs.

She Lies’ dreamy third EP release Everything is out now. With this release, the band expresses themselves with rhythms that are deeply manic, synth-driven Krautwave bangers; adjusted with catchy girl vocals and analogue synth lines. Drawing inspiration from the luminaries that started it all, the disco reverie of She Lies is heavily influenced by the music of Neu!, New Order, Suicide, and many more.

The EP’s title track, and opener, “Everything,” uses expressive synth patterns and New Order-esque string sounds within drum machine patterns. “Alone Again” is an uptempo dance track with staccato robotic synth lines and an immersive beat. The album closes with “My Disco”, describing a personal end of disco times with an ongoing synth arpeggiator and a Kraftwerk-influenced melody line.

Listen to the Everything EP below:

This is their third EP recording on Exlove records, the new label run by the masterminds from REWORK (Playhouse, My Favorite Robot, Exlove). Even if they don’t find much time in the studio together, She Lies plans on releasing their full-length debut in the near future.

Follow She Lies:

From the Editor at

Recent Posts

Argentinian Post-Punk Expat Nattskrik Expels her Curse as “Luz Mala”

Argentinian post-punk expat project Nattskrik lifts a curse with her new album Luz Mala, an…

5 days ago

Five of the Hottest New Darkwave Acts to See at Flesh and Steel NYC

Restless Presents, in partnership with SYNTHICIDE and Saint Vitus Bar in Brooklyn, announces the single-day lineup, single event passes,…

5 days ago

Jason Priest Staggers Between Reality and Illusion in “Quicksand”

Out of the quicksand and into the fire... Welcome back to the world of Jason…

5 days ago

Unconscious Reimagines the Iconic New Wave Track “Send Me An Angel” With Curses

Quite easily one of the best new wave tracks of all time, Real Life's 1983…

6 days ago

Italian Post-Punk Outfit We Are Waves Release New Album “Cave”

To the end of this harshness To the acceptance of my core To the grime…

6 days ago

Seattle Doomgaze Act STAHV Debuts New Single “P vs. P”

Scatter the bones Shatter the phones Leave them at home Addiction to mobile devices is…

1 week ago